For most outdoor jobs, I’d start with the POWGRN 50 ft 12/3: its thicker wire and 15 amp rating make it a stronger fit for demanding tools than the many 16/3 options here. The Amazon Basics 25-foot cord with three outlets suits nearby projects that need more than one connection, while the POWGRN 100-foot 12/3 adds reach for larger yards. The main tradeoff is between reach and handling: longer cords give you more placement options, but a heavier gauge can be less convenient to coil and store. Outlet count, rated capacity, and weather resistance also matter more than color or length alone. Read on for the full comparison and help matching a cord to your setup.
Turn quiet afternoons into listening time
- Thousands of audiobooks, podcasts and originals
- Listen on your phone, tablet or Echo — also offline
- Cancel anytime
Complete the kit
Key Takeaways
- Wire gauge separates heavy tool use from lighter tasks. The two amazon.com/dp/B0BMTJLMCK?tag=comfortalife-20&ascsubtag=dc-160007″ target=”_blank” rel=”nofollow sponsored noopener”>POWGRN 12/3 cords stand apart from the amazon.com/dp/B0FKMYMBV5?tag=comfortalife-20&ascsubtag=dc-160007″ target=”_blank” rel=”nofollow sponsored noopener”>16/3 options with their thicker conductors and stated 15 amp rating.
- Long reach does not automatically mean greater capacity. The amazon.com/dp/B00OS7ELK6?tag=comfortalife-20&ascsubtag=dc-160007″ target=”_blank” rel=”nofollow sponsored noopener”>Amazon Basics 100-foot and 16/3 100-foot cords reach farther, while the POWGRN 100-foot 12/3 combines distance with a heavier gauge.
- Outlet layout can matter more than extra length. The Amazon Basics 25-foot cord offers three outlets, and the K KASONIC 50-foot cord has six spaced outlets for setups with several nearby devices.
- Many picks share the 16/3 format. Vockjour, HUANCHAIN, Skrizcable, PLUGTUL, and GE are better compared by length, stated ratings, and outlet design than by gauge alone.
- The lineup includes short-run choices as well as yard-length cords. Vockjour’s 10-foot and Skrizcable’s 15-foot options may be easier to manage close to an outlet than a 50- or 100-foot cord.
| extension cords outdoor | Length | Voltage | Gauge | Amperage |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Amazon Basics 100 Foot 3-Prong | 100 feet | 125 VAC | 16-gauge | 10 amps |
| Amazon Basics 50-Foot 3-Prong | 50 feet | 125 VAC | 16-gauge | 13 amps |
| Vockjour 16/3 Indoor/Outdoor E | 10 feet | 125 V | — | — |
| 16/3 Outdoor Extension Cord | 100 ft | 125 V AC | — | — |
| Amazon Basics Indoor/Outdoor E | 25 feet | 125 VAC | 16 | 13 amps |
| HUANCHAIN 50 FT Waterproof Ind | 50 feet | 125V | 16/3 | 13A |
| POWGRN 50 ft 12/3 Outdoor Exte | 50 ft | 125V | — | 15A |
| POWGRN 100-Foot 12/3 Outdoor E | 100 ft | 125V | 12 AWG | 15A |
| Amazon Basics 50-Foot 3-Prong | 50 feet | 125 VAC | 16-gauge | 13A |
| Skrizcable 16/3 50 FT Outdoor | 50 ft | 125 VAC | 16/3 | 13A |
| PLUGTUL 25 ft Outdoor Extensio | 25 ft | — | 16/3 | — |
| K KASONIC Outdoor Extension Co | 50 ft | — | — | — |
| GE Outdoor Extension Cord | 40 ft | — | 16 AWG | — |
| Skrizcable 15 ft Outdoor Exten | 15 ft | — | — | — |
More Details on Our Top Picks
Amazon Basics 100 Foot 3-Prong Vinyl Indoor/Outdoor Extension Cord
The 100-foot reach makes this Amazon Basics cord a practical pick when an outlet is far from garden lighting or landscaping equipment. Its moisture- and UV-resistant vinyl suits outdoor placement, while the grounded plug and all-copper wiring provide a straightforward setup for compatible equipment. Compared with the 50-foot Amazon Basics cord, this one reaches farther but is rated for only 10 amps and 1,250 watts, so the extra length comes with less capacity. That tradeoff matters for tool users: check the equipment’s draw before choosing it, and keep the cord fully uncoiled during use. The long span can also leave extra cable to manage in smaller yards. I’d choose it for distant, modest-power tasks, not as a general-purpose cord for demanding tools.
Pros:- 100-foot length reaches areas beyond the 50-foot Amazon Basics cord
- Vinyl covering is described as moisture and UV resistant
- Grounded three-prong plug and all-copper wiring
- ETL certification
Cons:- 10-amp, 1,250-watt rating limits the equipment it can support
- Long cable can be awkward to route and store
Best for: Homeowners who need to reach distant garden lights or compatible landscaping equipment with modest power needs
Not ideal for: People running higher-draw tools or working in compact spaces where 100 feet of cord would be cumbersome
- Length:100 feet
- Gauge:16-gauge
- Amperage:10 amps
- Wattage:1,250 watts
- Voltage:125 VAC
- Material:Vinyl
- Certification:ETL
Our verdict“Choose this cord when outdoor reach matters more than capacity and your equipment stays within its 10-amp rating.”
Amazon Basics 50-Foot 3-Prong Indoor/Outdoor Extension Cord
For a mix of yard work, temporary lighting, and indoor tasks, this 50-foot Amazon Basics cord offers a more balanced reach and capacity than its 100-foot sibling. It is rated for 13 amps and 1,625 watts, compared with that longer model’s 10 amps and 1,250 watts, so it suits a broader range of compatible equipment when the shorter span is enough. The vinyl cover is described as resisting moisture, abrasion, and sunlight, and the grounded plug keeps the connection familiar. It lacks the extra reach of the 100-foot option and the three outlets of the 25-foot Amazon Basics model, so buyers should match it to a single connection point and measure the route first. I’d rank it as the most versatile straightforward pick here, with length as its main constraint.
Pros:- 13-amp, 1,625-watt rating exceeds the 100-foot Amazon Basics cord’s capacity
- 50-foot length balances reach with easier handling than a 100-foot cord
- Vinyl cover is described as resisting moisture, abrasion, and sunlight
- Grounded three-prong plug and all-copper wiring
Cons:- 50-foot reach may not cover large properties
- Single cord connection does not provide multiple outlets
- Not rated for equipment drawing more than 13 amps
Best for: Homeowners who need one grounded connection for common yard equipment or outdoor lighting within a 50-foot reach
Not ideal for: Buyers who need to reach more than 50 feet, power several devices at once, or run equipment above its 13-amp rating
- Length:50 feet
- Gauge:16-gauge
- Amperage:13 amps
- Wattage:1,625 watts
- Voltage:125 VAC
- Material:Vinyl covered
- Plug:3-prong grounded
Our verdict“Pick this Amazon Basics model for everyday outdoor tasks when 50 feet is enough and you want more capacity than the 100-foot version.”
Vockjour 16/3 Indoor/Outdoor Extension Cord, 10 ft, Black
At just 10 feet, the Vockjour is suited to short outdoor runs where a long cable would create clutter: think a nearby outlet and a single light or compatible tool. Its IP65-rated, flame-retardant polyethylene sheath and flexible strain relief are aimed at weather exposure and repeated bending, while hooks and a non-slip receptacle make it easier to position. The 13-amp, 1,625-watt rating matches the 50-foot Amazon Basics cord, but this Vockjour trades broad coverage for a compact, handling-focused format. That short reach is a real limitation for yards or distant outlets, and 16 AWG is not a reason to overlook the equipment’s power requirements. I’d favor it for close-in tasks and choose either Amazon Basics length when the work area sits farther from the outlet.
Pros:- Short 10-foot length limits excess cable around nearby equipment
- IP65-rated weather-resistant, flame-retardant sheath
- Flexible strain relief is specified for more than 20,000 bends
- Hooks and non-slip receptacle support positioning and handling
Cons:- 10-foot reach is too short for many yard layouts
- 16 AWG and 13-amp rating restrict suitability for higher-draw equipment
Best for: People with a nearby outdoor outlet who want a short cord for a light or compatible tool and value easy handling
Not ideal for: Yard owners who need to reach distant work areas or users whose equipment exceeds the 13-amp rating
- Length:10 feet
- Wire gauge:16 AWG
- Conductors:3
- Voltage:125 V
- Current:13 A
- Power:1,625 W
- Temperature range:-58°F to +158°F
- Listing:ETL/cETL approved
Our verdict“Choose the Vockjour for close-to-outlet outdoor tasks where its compact length and handling features matter more than reach.”
16/3 Outdoor Extension Cord, 100 ft, Waterproof, 10A, 1250W
This 100-foot cord is designed for outdoor routes where weather resistance and cold flexibility matter alongside reach. Its IP65 vinyl jacket, abrasion resistance, and stated tolerance down to -58°F give it a more weather-focused profile than the Amazon Basics 100-foot cord, whose supplied details emphasize moisture- and UV-resistant vinyl. Both are 16 AWG, 10-amp, 1,250-watt options, so neither is the right match for equipment that draws more than its rating. NEMA 5-15P and 5-15R connectors provide a standard grounded connection, and the listed strain relief is designed for repeated bending. The long cable must be fully uncoiled during use, which takes space and adds setup effort. I’d pick it for cold, exposed routes, after checking that the load fits its capacity.
Pros:- 100-foot reach for distant outdoor work areas
- IP65 jacket is designed to resist water and outdoor wear
- Specified to remain flexible down to -58°F
- Strain relief is designed to withstand 20,000 bends
Cons:- 10-amp, 1,250-watt rating rules out many higher-draw tools
- Must be fully uncoiled during use, requiring space to lay it out
- 100-foot length can be cumbersome to route and store
Best for: Homeowners who need a 100-foot outdoor run in cold conditions and have equipment within a 10-amp, 1,250-watt limit
Not ideal for: People using higher-draw tools, or those who want a shorter cord that is easier to handle and store
- Length:100 ft
- Wire gauge:16 AWG, 3 conductors
- Voltage:125 V AC
- Current:10 A
- Power:1,250 W
- Connectors:NEMA 5-15P male to NEMA 5-15R female
- Temperature resistance:Down to -58°F
- Certifications:ETL/cETL listed
Our verdict“Choose this model over the Amazon Basics 100-foot cord when its stated cold-weather and IP65 jacket features suit your outdoor route.”
Amazon Basics Indoor/Outdoor Extension Cord, 25-foot, 3-Prong Grounded Plug with 3 Outlets, Weather Resistant Vinyl, Green
The defining feature here is the three grounded outlets: they let one 25-foot run serve several nearby lights or compatible devices, unlike the single-connection Amazon Basics 50-foot cord. The shorter length is easier to place around a patio or garden setup, and the green, weather-resistant vinyl can blend into landscaping better than black or yellow cords. Its 16-gauge all-copper construction is rated for 13 amps and 1,625 watts total, so the shared load still needs to stay within that limit. Compared with the 100-foot Amazon Basics cord, it gives up reach but provides more outlet flexibility and a higher stated amperage. The fixed length may not suit either a tiny indoor task or a distant yard outlet. I’d choose it for clustered outdoor devices within reach.
Pros:- Three grounded outlets support several nearby devices
- 25-foot length fits patio and garden setups without 100 feet of excess cable
- Green vinyl can blend more easily with outdoor decor
- 13-amp, 1,625-watt rating exceeds the 100-foot Amazon Basics model
Cons:- All connected devices share the 13-amp, 1,625-watt capacity
- 25-foot length may be too short for distant outlets
- Vinyl may be less flexible than rubber in cold weather
Best for: People setting up several nearby garden lights or patio devices who want one 25-foot cord with multiple grounded outlets
Not ideal for: Buyers who need to reach distant parts of a large yard or need a cord for equipment above 13 amps
- Length:25 feet
- Gauge:16
- Voltage:125 VAC
- Amperage:13 amps
- Wattage:1,625 watts
- Number of outlets:3
- Plug type:Type B, 3-prong grounded
- Certification:ETL certified
Our verdict“Choose this cord for multiple nearby outdoor devices, provided their combined draw stays within its 13-amp rating.”
HUANCHAIN 50 FT Waterproof Indoor/Outdoor Extension Cord, 16/3 Gauge, 3 Prong, ETL Listed
The HUANCHAIN 50-footer is a practical pick for outdoor lighting and lighter-duty tools when the cord needs to stay flexible in cold conditions. Its vinyl construction is rated from -50°C to ambient, and the strain relief is intended to reduce wear where the cord meets the plug. Compared with the POWGRN 50 ft 12/3 Outdoor Extension Cord, HUANCHAIN gives up amp capacity at 13A versus 15A, so it is better matched to modest loads than more demanding equipment. The waterproof rating and ETL/cETL listing suit outdoor use, but the provided details do not specify an IP rating. Skip it for heaters or other high-draw appliances; at 50 feet, it can also leave excess cord to manage in a small space.
Pros:- Waterproof construction is suited to outdoor use
- Flexible vinyl is designed to handle cold conditions
- Strain relief helps limit wear at the cord ends
- ETL/cETL listed
Cons:- 13A capacity is lower than the 15A POWGRN 50 ft 12/3 option
- Not suitable for heaters
- 50 feet can be cumbersome for short indoor runs
Best for: Homeowners running outdoor lights or compatible low-demand tools who need a flexible 50-foot cord in cold weather
Not ideal for: People powering heaters or high-demand equipment, since it is limited to 13A and is specifically not suitable for heaters
- Length:50 feet
- Gauge:16/3
- Plug:3-prong
- Voltage:125V
- Amperage:13A
- Maximum wattage:1625W
- Temperature range:-50°C to ambient
- Listing:ETL/cETL
Our verdict“Choose HUANCHAIN for flexible, weather-resistant reach with lighter loads; choose a 12-gauge 15A cord for more demanding equipment.”
POWGRN 50 ft 12/3 Outdoor Extension Cord, 15 Amp, Yellow
For a typical outdoor run where 50 feet is enough, the POWGRN 12/3 cord offers a useful step up in capacity from the 16-gauge options in this group. Its 15A, 1875W rating suits compatible tools and equipment that would push a 13A cord closer to its limit. The yellow jacket and lighted end make the cord easier to spot and confirm as powered, while the IP65 weather-resistant jacket is specified more clearly than the Amazon Basics 50-foot cord’s vinyl cover. A socket hook also gives you a simple way to handle the end during setup. Its main compromise is bulk: the thicker 12-gauge cable can take more effort to store, and the 50-foot length may be unnecessary for nearby outlets.
Pros:- 12/3 construction with a 15A, 1875W rating
- IP65 weather-resistant jacket
- Lighted end shows when power is present
- Socket hook aids handling and storage
Cons:- 50-foot cable can be bulky to store and manage
- Single outlet limits how many devices can connect at the cord end
Best for: Homeowners and DIY users who need a visible 50-foot outdoor cord for compatible tools rated within 15A
Not ideal for: People with short runs or limited storage space, or anyone whose equipment exceeds the cord’s 15A rating
- Length:50 ft
- Wire gauge:12/3
- Amperage:15A
- Voltage:125V
- Maximum power:1875W
- Plug configuration:NEMA 5-15P to NEMA 5-15R
- Temperature range:-58°F to 158°F
- Weather resistance:IP65
- Listing:ETL/cETL
Our verdict“Pick POWGRN’s 50-foot 12/3 model when you want more capacity and visibility than a 16-gauge cord provides.”
POWGRN 100-Foot 12/3 Outdoor Extension Cord
When the outlet is far from the work area, the POWGRN 100-foot 12/3 reaches farther than the 50-foot cords here while retaining a stated 15A, 1875W rating. That extra distance can help with a large yard or a spread-out work area, and the IP65 jacket, lighted end, and strain relief add useful outdoor-focused details. Compared with the shorter POWGRN 50 ft 12/3 model, this one doubles the reach but calls for more space to lay out and store the cable. It has just one outlet, so it is for extending a single connection rather than powering several devices at the cord end. The listing also says to fully uncoil it during use, a practical constraint when choosing a long run.
Pros:- 100-foot reach for distant outdoor work areas
- 12-gauge cord rated for 15A and 1875W
- IP65 weather-resistant jacket and lighted end
- Strain relief and included storage straps
Cons:- Must be fully uncoiled during use
- One outlet serves only a single connection
- Extra length takes more space to handle and store than the 50-foot POWGRN model
Best for: Homeowners or groundskeepers who need a single outlet extended across a large yard or work area
Not ideal for: People who need multiple outlets, have only a short run, or cannot fully uncoil and manage a 100-foot cord
- Length:100 ft
- Gauge:12 AWG
- Conductors:3
- Voltage:125V
- Amperage:15A
- Maximum wattage:1875W
- Cord type:SJTW
- Weather resistance:IP65 waterproof
- Included:Storage straps
Our verdict“Choose this POWGRN when a 50-foot cord will not reach and you can manage a fully uncoiled 100-foot run.”
Amazon Basics 50-Foot 3-Prong Indoor/Outdoor Extension Cord
The Amazon Basics 50-foot cord keeps the essentials simple: grounded 16-gauge copper wiring, a vinyl cover, and ratings of 13A and 1625W. That makes it a reasonable match for compatible outdoor lights, landscaping equipment, or lighter-duty tools when a 50-foot run is useful. Compared with the POWGRN 50 ft 12/3, this cord has a lower stated capacity and no listed lighted end or IP65 rating, so it gives up some at-a-glance power visibility and clearly specified weather resistance. Its all-copper wiring and indoor/outdoor designation cover common needs, but the product data does not describe weatherproof connectors. The length can also create extra slack around a nearby outlet, so buyers with short runs may prefer a shorter option.
Pros:- Grounded 3-prong design
- All-copper wiring
- Indoor and outdoor use designation
- 50-foot reach for yard equipment and lighting
Cons:- 13A capacity is below the 15A POWGRN 12/3 cords
- Weatherproof connector details are not provided
- No listed lighted end to indicate power
Best for: Homeowners who want a basic grounded cord for outdoor lighting or compatible landscaping tools
Not ideal for: Buyers needing a 15A cord, a stated IP65 jacket, or specifically weatherproof connectors
- Length:50 feet
- Gauge:16-gauge
- Plug:3-prong grounded
- Amperage:13A
- Maximum wattage:1625W
- Voltage:125 VAC
- Material:Vinyl-covered copper wire
- Use:Indoor/outdoor
Our verdict“This Amazon Basics cord fits straightforward 13A outdoor tasks when you want a grounded 50-foot run and do not need a stated IP rating.”
Skrizcable 16/3 50 FT Outdoor Waterproof Extension Cord, Black
The Skrizcable 16/3 is a 50-foot option for buyers who want a waterproof outdoor cord with a stated cold-weather range and storage straps. Its listed range down to -58°F gives it a defined low-temperature spec, while the pure-copper conductors and corrosion-resistant pins address durability at the connection points. Against the HUANCHAIN 50 FT, Skrizcable lists a lower minimum temperature and storage straps, but both are 16-gauge cords rated at 13A and 1625W. That shared capacity makes either a better fit for lighter loads than the 12/3 POWGRN options. Skrizcable’s details also require full uncoiling during use, and its 13A limit rules it out for high-power appliances.
Pros:- Waterproof and weatherproof construction
- Temperature range extends down to -58°F
- Pure copper conductors and corrosion-resistant pins
- Storage straps included
Cons:- 13A and 1625W limit it to lighter loads than 12/3, 15A cords
- Must be fully uncoiled before use
Best for: People needing a 50-foot waterproof cord for outdoor lights or compatible tools in cold conditions, with storage straps for organization
Not ideal for: Users powering high-demand appliances or anyone unable to lay out the full cord during use
- Length:50 ft
- Gauge:16/3
- Amperage:13A
- Maximum wattage:1625W
- Voltage:125 VAC
- Material:Pure copper with vinyl outer jacket
- Temperature range:-58°F to 122°F
- Listing:ETL listed
- Included:Storage straps
Our verdict“Choose Skrizcable over the similar HUANCHAIN 16/3 cord when its specified colder temperature range and included storage straps suit your setup.”
PLUGTUL 25 ft Outdoor Extension Cord, 16/3 Gauge, Black, 13A
The PLUGTUL 25-footer suits a mower, trimmer, or patio light that needs a single grounded connection within a modest reach. Its flexible, weather-resistant SJTW jacket is easier to route around garden edges than a heavier 12-gauge cord such as the POWGRN 50 ft 12/3, though the PLUGTUL is limited to 13 amps. Reinforced nickel-plated blades add resistance to bending and corrosion, while the included strap helps keep the shorter cord tidy between jobs. The tradeoff is straightforward: it has one outlet, and its 16/3 wire is not the right choice for equipment above its rating. Pick it for routine outdoor tasks where reach and load demands are moderate; choose a heavier-duty option for high-draw tools.
Pros:- 25-foot length reaches across a small yard without the bulk of a 50- or 100-foot run
- Flexible weather-resistant SJTW jacket is suited to indoor and outdoor routing
- Reinforced blades resist bending and corrosion
- Hook-and-loop strap makes storage easier
Cons:- Single outlet offers no way to power multiple devices from the cord
- 16/3 gauge and 13-amp rating limit suitability for higher-power equipment
Best for: Homeowners powering one moderate-load garden tool or a short run of outdoor lighting near an outlet
Not ideal for: People running high-draw tools or several devices at once, since it has one outlet and a 13-amp rating
- Length:25 ft
- Gauge:16/3
- Cord type:SJTW
- Conductors:3 pure copper
- Plug and receptacle:NEMA 5-15P to NEMA 5-15R
- Jacket:Flexible weather-resistant PVC
- Certification:ETL listed
Our verdict“Choose the PLUGTUL for a single moderate-load garden task that needs 25 feet of flexible outdoor reach.”
K KASONIC Outdoor Extension Cord 50 ft with 6 Evenly Spaced Outlets
For a spread of lights or low-draw seasonal decorations, the K KASONIC’s six outlets spaced eight feet apart can reduce the need to run separate cords from the house. That layout gives it a different job from the single-outlet PLUGTUL 25 ft Outdoor Extension Cord: it serves several points along a longer route, while the PLUGTUL is simpler for one nearby tool. The K KASONIC is 50 feet long and wet-location rated, with covers intended to shield unused sockets from outdoor debris and weather. Its 16 AWG wire is still a limiting factor; multiple outlets do not raise the stated 15-amp, 1,625-watt capacity, and the fixed spacing may leave sockets in awkward places. There is no stated surge protection, so I would reserve it for distributing ordinary outdoor loads rather than sensitive electronics.
Pros:- Six grounded outlets support devices at multiple points along the cord
- Eight-foot outlet spacing can reduce plug crowding
- Wet-location-rated SJTW cable is intended for outdoor conditions
- Covers shield unused outlets from rain, snow, and dust
Cons:- Fixed outlet spacing may not match the layout of a particular yard or display
- The 1,625-watt rating applies to the cord as a whole, not each outlet
- Surge protection is not specified
Best for: People arranging several low-draw lights or decorations along a 50-foot outdoor route
Not ideal for: Buyers needing adjustable outlet positions, surge protection, or capacity for multiple high-draw devices
- Length:50 ft
- Outlets:6 grounded outlets
- Outlet spacing:8 ft
- Wire gauge:16 AWG
- Cable type:SJTW weatherproof
- Plug:NEMA 5-15P grounded
- Certification:ETL listed
- Warranty:1 year
Our verdict“Pick the K KASONIC when several modest outdoor loads need power along one long route and its fixed spacing fits your layout.”
GE Outdoor Extension Cord, 40 Ft, Grounded Heavy Duty Extension Cord, 16AWG
The green jacket is the GE cord’s clearest advantage for a route across grass or beside shrubs, where a black cable may stand out. Its 40-foot reach also sits between the 25-foot PLUGTUL and longer 50-foot options such as the K KASONIC, giving buyers a middle length without extra outlet branches. A double-insulated PVC jacket and molded plug are intended to handle routine indoor or outdoor use, but the supplied specs list a 13-amp, 1,625-watt limit and 16 AWG wire. That makes it a fit for lawn equipment and seasonal décor within the rating, not a substitute for the heavier 12/3 POWGRN cords when equipment draws more current. The product data does not specify a water-resistance rating or additional safety features, so I would favor it for discreet placement and moderate loads rather than exposed, demanding work.
Pros:- Green finish is less conspicuous against grass and landscaping
- 40-foot length bridges the gap between short household cords and 50-foot runs
- Grounded design suits compatible three-prong equipment
- Double-insulated PVC jacket and molded plug are designed for durable routine use
Cons:- 16 AWG wire and 13-amp rating limit heavy-duty applications
- Product data does not state a water-resistance rating
- No outlet covers or multi-outlet section are specified
Best for: Homeowners running a moderate-load tool or seasonal lights across a lawn who want the cord to blend into greenery
Not ideal for: Users powering industrial or high-draw tools, or buyers who need a stated wet-location rating
- Length:40 ft
- Gauge:16 AWG
- Use:Indoor and outdoor
- Jacket:Double-insulated PVC
- Plug:Molded plug
- Finish:Green
Our verdict“Choose the GE for moderate outdoor loads when a 40-foot green cord that blends into landscaping is more useful than heavier-gauge capacity.”
Skrizcable 15 ft Outdoor Extension Cord, 16/3 Gauge, Black
When the outlet is close to the work area, the 15-foot Skrizcable avoids the extra length of the GE 40 ft cord or K KASONIC 50 ft cord. Its standout detail is an IP65-rated jacket designed to resist water, abrasion, corrosion, flame, and cold, giving it a stronger stated weather-resistance profile than the PLUGTUL 25 ft, whose listing describes a weather-resistant jacket without an IP rating. The cord remains a 16/3, 13-amp option, so the shorter length does not make it suitable for loads beyond its rating. It must be fully uncoiled during use, and the jacket may feel stiff when new. This is a practical choice for nearby outdoor equipment in rougher conditions, but buyers needing broad yard coverage or a more flexible cord should look longer or elsewhere.
Pros:- IP65-rated vinyl jacket is designed to resist water, abrasion, corrosion, flame, and cold
- Three-prong 16/3 construction with a 13-amp, 1,625-watt rating
- Strain relief and stated testing for 20,000 large-angle bends
- Short length is easier to route and store for nearby connections
Cons:- 15-foot reach may fall short across a yard
- Must be fully uncoiled during use
- Jacket may feel stiff when first unpacked
Best for: Homeowners who need a short connection for nearby outdoor equipment and value a stated IP65 jacket rating
Not ideal for: Anyone needing a long run, powering equipment above 13 amps, or routing a cord while it is coiled
- Length:15 ft
- Wire gauge:16/3
- Connectors:NEMA 5-15P to NEMA 5-15R
- Prongs:3
- Water resistance:IP65
- Jacket:Vinyl, flame-retardant and cold-resistant
- Listing:ETL/cETL listed
Our verdict“Pick the Skrizcable for a nearby outdoor connection where its short reach and IP65 jacket suit the job.”

How We Picked
I compared the 14 listed cords by the factors that change how an outdoor cord works in practice: wire gauge and stated current capacity, length, number and spacing of outlets, grounding, and stated weather-resistant or waterproof construction. A thicker 12/3 cord with a stated 15 amp rating ranked ahead for demanding equipment, while 16/3 models remained relevant for lighter duty and shorter runs. Multi-outlet designs earned a distinct place for yard setups with several devices, but outlet count did not outweigh capacity when a buyer needs to power a higher-draw tool.
The order reflects how clearly each product serves a buyer need and how much useful capability it offers for that role. I treated the Amazon Basics 50-foot listing that appears twice as one distinct product rather than inventing differences between duplicates. Product names and supplied specifications do not establish certification or safe use in every condition, so readers should check the cord label and tool requirements before connecting equipment.
Factors to Consider When Choosing Extension Cords Outdoor
Choosing outdoor extension cords starts with the job at the far end of the cord, not with the longest option on the shelf. I’d match the cord’s rating to the tool, then decide how much reach and how many connection points the layout calls for. These checks help avoid buying a cord that is awkward to handle or mismatched to the equipment.
Match the Cord to the Tool’s Load
Check the tool or appliance label for its amperage or wattage before choosing a cord. The cord must be rated to handle the load, and the tool maker’s guidance takes priority over a general rule of thumb. A 12/3 cord such as the POWGRN options gives more capacity headroom than a 16/3 cord, which is why gauge matters for demanding equipment. A lighter cord can still make sense for lower-draw devices, especially when ease of handling matters. Do not assume a cord is suitable just because its plug fits. If the tool draws close to the cord’s rating, consult the product instructions or a qualified electrician.
Account for Length and Voltage Drop
Measure the route the cord needs to follow, including turns around planters, fences, and walkways. Longer runs can increase voltage drop, particularly when a tool draws substantial power, so extra length is not a free upgrade. For a distant work area, a heavier gauge can help manage the tradeoff, though it usually adds bulk. Avoid linking multiple cords to create a longer run unless the equipment instructions specifically allow it. If the route is near a walkway, plan how to keep the cord from creating a trip hazard. Buying close to the needed length can make the setup easier to handle and store.
Read Weather and Safety Markings
Outdoor wording alone does not tell you every condition a cord can handle. Look for the cord’s actual markings and instructions on outdoor use, moisture exposure, temperature range, and approved applications. Weather-resistant or waterproof claims should be read alongside the maker’s directions; they do not mean that a plug connection can sit in standing water. Use grounded three-prong cords only with compatible grounded outlets and equipment. Keep connections raised and protected from rain where practical, and unplug the cord before handling a damaged section. Replace cords with cracked insulation, loose plugs, or exposed conductors.
Choose One Outlet or Several
A single-outlet cord keeps the connection simple when one tool is the only load. Multi-outlet cords can reduce clutter for lights or several low-draw devices in one area, while spaced outlets can make bulky plugs easier to fit. The total load across every outlet still has to stay within the cord’s rating and the circuit’s limit. Adding more sockets does not increase available power. Check whether the outlet spacing and cord layout suit the devices you plan to connect. For tools with high startup demands, it may be safer to use a dedicated cord and connection.
Balance Reach Against Handling and Storage
A long cord can reach across a yard, but it takes more effort to lay out, coil, and carry back to storage. Thicker conductors add more weight, so a long 12/3 cord may be a better fit for a fixed work area than for quick, frequent trips. Shorter cords can reduce tangles when the outlet is close, provided they reach without being stretched tight. Coil cords loosely and store them dry, away from sharp edges and heat. Before use, uncoil enough cord to prevent heat from building up in a tightly wound coil. Choose a length you can manage safely as well as one that reaches.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is a 12/3 outdoor extension cord worth choosing over a 16/3 cord?
It can be, when your tool draws more current or the run is long. The 12/3 options in this roundup have a stated 15 amp rating, while many 16/3 listings are aimed at lighter-duty use. Check both the cord label and the equipment instructions; gauge alone does not establish that a cord suits every tool. A thicker cord is heavier and can be less convenient for short, occasional tasks. Choose based on the load and length you actually need.
Can I use a 100-foot outdoor cord with a power tool?
That depends on the tool’s power draw and the cord’s rating, not length alone. Long runs can increase voltage drop, which can affect tool performance and may contribute to overheating when the cord is undersized for the load. In this lineup, the POWGRN 100-foot 12/3 is a more capable starting point for demanding work than a 100-foot 16/3 option, but you still need to check the tool maker’s guidance. Keep the cord fully uncoiled during use. If the tool struggles or the cord gets warm, stop and reassess the setup.
Does a waterproof or weather-resistant label mean the plug can get wet?
No label should be taken as permission to leave a live plug connection exposed to rain or sitting in water. Read the manufacturer’s instructions for the cord and any connected equipment, and keep connections dry and raised where possible. Outdoor cords are designed for specified conditions, which can vary by model. Inspect the insulation and plugs before use, since damage can defeat weather protection. When conditions exceed the stated use, disconnect power and move the setup to a safer location.
Should I choose a cord with multiple outlets for yard lights and tools?
Multiple outlets can simplify a low-draw setup with lights or small devices close together. The Amazon Basics 25-foot model has three outlets, and the K KASONIC has six spaced outlets, but the total power available does not rise with the outlet count. Add up the connected loads and stay within the cord and circuit ratings. Avoid putting high-draw tools on a shared cord with other equipment unless the instructions permit it. For a single demanding tool, a dedicated cord is often the clearer choice.
How much extra length should I buy for an outdoor route?
Measure the path the cord will follow rather than the straight-line distance, then allow enough slack to reach without pulling on the plug. Too little length can strain connections, while excessive length adds weight, storage bulk, and potential voltage drop. For longer routes, verify that the cord’s gauge suits the equipment load; choosing a longer cord with the same light gauge may not be the right tradeoff. Keep slack away from walkways and moving equipment. The best length is the shortest one that safely reaches the work area.
Conclusion
For most buyers running outdoor tools, I’d choose the POWGRN 50 ft 12/3 as the best overall balance of reach and stated capacity. The Amazon Basics 25-foot three-outlet cord is my best value pick for nearby, multi-device tasks, while the POWGRN 100-foot 12/3 is the stronger choice when a large yard calls for more reach. Beginners with light-duty needs may find a shorter 16/3 option such as the Vockjour 10-foot cord easier to handle, as long as its rating suits the device. For several low-draw connections spread across one area, look at the K KASONIC six-outlet cord. Check the label against your equipment before buying, especially for long runs or higher-draw tools.
Halloween Picks
halloween
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

















